On January 8, 2024, the Wi-Fi Alliance officially introduced Wi-Fi 7 — also known as IEEE 802.11be Extremely High Throughput (EHT). The latest iteration of Wi-Fi supports 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz frequency bands and Multi-Link Operation (MLO), which enables Wi-Fi 7 to provide higher data rates. The Wi-Fi 7 standard offers the main advantages for users as below:

  • From a theoretical standpoint, Wi-Fi 7 is almost four times faster than Wi-Fi 6
  • Increase efficiency and handle interference better, even under complex environments
  • Reduce latency during transmission
  • Provide higher stability and reliability
  • Support low-power consumption and energy-saving for devices

Wi-Fi 7 introduces a variety of new technologies to achieve the aforementioned advantages:

  • Multi-Link Operation (MLO), facilitating simultaneous data transmission and reception over multiple links
  • Wi-Fi 7 extends the channel width up to 320 MHz, providing higher throughput with a wider channel.
  • 4K quadrature amplitude modulation (4K QAM), achieving 20% higher transmission rates than 1024 QAM in Wi-Fi 6.
  • 512 Compressed Block Ack: The technology advancement improves efficiency and reduces overhead
  • Leverage Multiple Resource Unit (MRU) in OFDMA mode to reduce latency and wireless congestion

In addition to the continuous use of OFDMA, major Wi-Fi 7 enhancements include multiple antenna design and MU-MIMO, allowing for simultaneous high-speed transmissions to more users. Moreover, Wi-Fi 7 offers enhanced network security (the WPA3 protocol), and QoS Management provides smoother channel access management. These advancements make the future wireless network more flexible, efficient, and promising.

To obtain Wi-Fi 7 certification, in addition to Wi-Fi 7 testing, it is necessary to undergo testing for backward compatibility and security. Below are the main programs that must be completed:


  • Wi-Fi CERTIFIED 7™
  • Wi-Fi CERTIFIED 6™
  • Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™ n
  • Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™ ac


  • Wi-Fi Enhanced Open™ (6E device if 2.4GHz/5GHz support OPEN security)
  • Protected Management Frames
  • Security Vulnerability Detection
  1. Key Reinstallation Vulnerability Detection
  2. Fragment and Forge Vulnerability Detection


  • Wi-Fi Agile Multiband™
  • WMM® (Wi-Fi Multimedia™)

As Wi-Fi 7 incorporates some of the most advanced technologies and has extensive product applicability, the Wi-Fi 7 certification is expected to pose increased difficulty and challenges. Allion’s testing laboratories in Taipei and Shenzhen have been authorized by the Wi-Fi Alliance to deliver Wi-Fi 7 certification services. For any inquiries about Wi-Fi 7, please contact Allion.

More News and Services

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.